Wednesday 29 March 2017
  • :
  • :

Election Commission to announce assembly poll dates for five states by today noon

The Election Commission will announce the poll dates for five State assemblies- Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Manipur, Goa and Uttarakhand. EC will hold a press conference, where Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi will announce a list of dates including the last of filing nominations, Individual dates of polling of each state, phases, if any, and the day of counting.

The Election Commission held a meeting on Tuesday, with Chief Electoral Officers of the five poll-bound states – Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa to fine tune the arrangements.


The law and order situation in Manipur due to the on-going road blockade by some Naga groups was the focus.

The Union Home Ministry, submitted a report to EC explaining about the ongoing tension and grave situation prevailing in Manipur. The EC may independently make an assessment of the situation so that election can be conducted properly,” a top Home Ministry official told news agency PTI.

At a high-level meeting with the EC, top officials of the Ministry led by Union Home Secretary Rajiv Mehrishi conveyed that it would provide around 750 companies of paramilitary forces for smooth conduct of the upcoming elections in five states. In addition, around 100 companies, most of which belong to State Armed Police Forces and India Reserve Battalions, will also be drawn from different states for deployment of election duties.