Sunday 26 March 2017
  • :
  • :

ICC Awards: Ashwin named as ICC ‘Test Cricketer of the year’

International Cricket Council(ICC) has announced the awards for the year 2016, and it named Ravichandran Ashwin, the Indian offspinner, as Cricketer of the year and ICC Test Cricketer of the year of 2016.

Ashwin picked up 48 wickets in eight Tests this year at a stunning average of 15.39 and also contributed with the bat by scoring 336 runs, averaging 42 during the voting period from September 14, 2015 to September 20, 2016. India blanked South Africa 3-0 at home to regain the No.1 Test spot in January and beat West Indies 2-0 away in this period.

Even though he played only three One-Day Internationals in this period, the 30-year-old made his presence felt in Twenty20 Internationals, where he picked up 27 wickets at an average of 15.62 and a remarkable economy of 6.29 as India beat Australia 3-0 away, won the Asia Cup and reached the semifinal of the World Twenty20 at home.

The first award of the day was the ‘Spirit of Cricket Award 2016’, which was awarded to Pakistan Test skipper Misbah-ul-Haq. Quinton De Kock was named the ODI cricketer of the year.

Ashwin was also named in the Test team of the Year along with David Warner, Alastair Cook (c), Kane Williamson, Joe Root, Adam Voges, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Ben Stokes, Rangana Herath, Mitchell Starc, Dale Steyn and Steve Smith. Both, Warner and Starc found a place in the Test and One-Day International teams of the Year.